Connect with us


Alex Morgan, Hirving Lozano named Concacaf Players of Year

United States forward Alex Morgan (13) celebrates after scoring a goal against Japan in the second half during the Tournament of Nations Women's Soccer match at Children's Mercy Park. (Amy Kontras-USA TODAY Sports)

United States women’s national team superstar Alex Morgan and standout Mexican attacker Hirving Lozano have been named Concacaf Female and Male Players of the Year, respectively. 

This is the third year in a row Morgan has won the award and the fourth time overall.

Morgan, who also plays for the Orlando Pride, scored 18 goals to go with three assists in 19 USWNT appearances in 2018. The USWNT stomped undefeated to a 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship and Morgan scored seven goals during the tournament and helped the United States qualify for the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France. 

Morgan, 29, scored five goals for the Pride during the 2018 season. 

Lozano, 23, who plays for Eredivisie side PSV Eindhoven, scored a match-winning goal over Germany in the 2018 World Cup in Russia. 

Winners of the award were decided by a vote from national-team head coaches, national team captains, media and fans. 

Concacaf also announced Costa Rican goalkeeper Keylor Navas (Real Madrid) won the Male Goalkeeper of the Year Award. Chicago Red Stars and USWNT goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher won the women’s award. 

Matias Almeyda, who used to coach at Chivas but was recently hired as the coach of the San Jose Earthquakes, was named Male Coach of the Year. Jamaica women’s national-team coach Hue Menzies was named Female Coach of the Year. The Jamaican women’s national team also won the Outstanding Performance of the Year award. 

Cesar Arturo Ramos and Lucila Venegas were named Male and Female Referees of the Year, respectively. 

Club América’s Joe Corona’s long-range strike in the 19th minute of his club’s match against Tauro FC in the Concacaf Champions League was named Goal of the Year. The shot went off the post and in and was part of a 4-0 victory for Club América. 

Here’s the full list of award winners:

Male Player of the Year

  1. Hirving Lozano (MEX) – PSV Eindhoven/NED
  2. Keylor Navas (CRC) – Real Madrid CF/ESP
  3. Sebastian Giovinco (ITA) – Toronto FC/CAN

Female Player of the Year

  1. Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride/USA 
  2. Khadija Shaw (JAM) – University of Tennessee/USA
  3. Lindsey Horan (USA) – Portland Thorns FC/USA

Male Goalkeeper of the Year

  1. Keylor Navas (CRC) – Real Madrid CF/ESP
  2. Guillermo Ochoa (MEX) – Standard Liège/BEL
  3. Cody Laurendi (PUR) – Oklahoma City Energy/USA

Female Goalkeeper of the Year

  1. Alyssa Naeher (USA) – Chicago Red Starts/USA
  2. Yenith Bailey (PAN) – Sporting SM/PAN
  3. Stephanie Labbe (CAN) – Linköpings FC/SWE

Men’s Football Coach of the Year

  1. Matias Almeyda (ARG) – San Jose Earthquakes/USA (Formerly CD Guadalajara/MEX)
  2. Remko Bicentini (CUW) – Curacao National Team
  3. Juan Carlos Osorio (COL) – Paraguay National Team (Formerly Mexico National Team)

Women’s Football Coach of the Year

  1. Hue Menzies (JAM) – Jamaica Women’s National Team/Florida Kraze Krush/USA
  2. Jill Ellis (USA) – United States Women’s National Team
  3. Monica Vergara (MEX) – Mexico U-17 Women’s National Team

Male Referee of the Year

  1. Cesar Arturo Ramos (MEX)
  2. Mark Geiger (USA)
  3. Joel Aguilar (SLV)

Female Referee of the Year

  1. Lucila Venegas (MEX)
  2. Crystal Sobers (TRI)
  3. Carol Anne Chenard (CAN)

Goal of the Year

  1. Joe Corona (MEX) – SCCL: Club America (MEX) vs Tauro FC (PAN), 19′
  2. Alan Pulido (MEX) – SCCL: CD Guadalajara (MEX) vs Toronto FC (CAN), 72′
  3. Khadija Shaw (JAM) – CWC: Jamaica vs Cuba, 2′

Outstanding Performance Award
Jamaica Women’s National Team




NWSL Schedule/Results


NWSL standings





NWSL Calendar

August 2019

More in NWSL