Connect with us

Columbus Crew SC

Columbus Crew exercise contract options of 8 players

The Columbus Crew exercised the contract options for eight players and signed defender Lalas Abubakar to a new contract on Monday.

Goalkeepers Jon Kempin and Ben Lundgaard, defenders Alex Crognale, Connor Maloney, Gaston Sauro and Josh Williams and midfielders Luis Argudo and Niko Hansen had their contract options picked up by the club.

Abubakar, who was selected fifth overall in the 2017 MLS SuperDraft, will be back for a third season with the Crew on a new deal.

In addition to the contract news, the Crew remain in discussions with Newell’s Old Boys about the status of Milton Valenzuela, who made 30 appearances for Gregg Berhalter’s team on loan from the Argentinian club.

Goalkeeper Logan Ketterer, midfielders Ricardo Clark, Mike Grella and Cristian Martinez as well as forward Adam Jahn had their contract options declined.

Clark is still in talks with the Crew about a return that would come on a new deal.

Roster As of November 26

Goalkeepers (3): Jon Kempin, Ben Lundgaard, Zack Steffen

Defenders (7): Lalas Abubakar, Harrison Afful, Alex Crognale, Connor Maloney, Jonathan Mensah, Gaston Sauro, Josh Williams

Midfielders (10): Luis Argudo, Artur, Niko Hansen, Federico Higuain, Hector Jimenez, Justin Meram, Edward Opoku, Pedro Santos, Eduardo Sosa, Wil Trapp

Forwards (2): Patrick Mullins, Gyasi Zardes




Columbus Crew Schedule

Get Crew Tickets


Columbus Crew Gear




More in Columbus Crew SC