Connect with us


Hermann Trophy winners are Indiana’s Andrew Gutman, Stanford’s Catarina Macario

Indiana Defender Andrew Gutman, right, won the Hermann Trophy presented to the nation's top college soccer player. (Photo by Kyle Ross/AP)

The winners of the 2018 men’s and women’s MAC Hermann Trophy were unveiled on Friday. 

Indiana senior defender Andrew Gutman won the men’s award and Stanford sophomore forward Catarina Macario won the women’s award. The two were announced during a ceremony at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. 

The Hermann trophy is the highest individual honor in collegiate soccer. The finalists and winners were determined by Division I soccer coaches who are members of the United Soccer Coaches. 

Gutman, a United Soccer Coaches First Team All-American, scored 11 goals in his senior season to go with nine assists. He was also the Big 10’s Defensive Player of the Year. 

“To Indiana University, thank you for allowing me to achieve my goals, both academically and athletically,” Gutman said during his acceptance speech. He also thanked his coaching staff and other people involved with Indiana soccer. 

Macario led Stanford with 14 goals (tied for 11th in the nation). 

“I wanted to thank my teammates, because, really, I would not be here without them,” Macario said during her acceptance speech. “They’re the ones who make me look good. Thank you for your support and for everything that you have done and continue to do for me.”

After pausing for a moment to collect her thoughts, Macario added, “Yeah, I don’t know where I would be without you guys. Just at a loss for words.” 

University of Denver senior Andre Shinyashiki, who led Division I soccer with 28 goals, and Kentucky junior JJ Williams (14 goals in 18 games) were the other finalists for the men’s award. Both were invited to the 2019 MLS Player Combine at Orlando City Stadium and were present for the ceremony in St. Louis. Williams was signed to the 2019 Generation Adidas class. 

Gutman called both Shinyashiki and Williams “fantastic players.” 

The other finalists for the women’s award were Stanford’s Jordan DiBiasi and Georgetown’s Caitlin Farrell. Both players have registered for the 2019 NWSL draft. 

Macario acknowledged both DiBiasi and Farrell during her acceptance speech, wishing them the best. 




MLS Schedule


Team Gear




More in News